Western North Carolina as Biodiversity Hotspot

Brevard College, Jennifer Frick-Ruppert

Do you even know the names of the trees in your backyard?

I came across that question in an article written by Jennifer Frick-Ruppert, a biologist and professor of environmental studies at Brevard College.  Her question grabbed my attention and caused me to think about the 147 miles of water I’d passed through with my family on our recent French Broad River rafting trip. I knew I couldn’t name all of the trees in my backyard and certainly not many of the organisms big or small that live in the French Broad River. I got in touch with Jennifer and she said she was willing to tell me about organisms that live in the water and their importance to the region of Western North Carolina. I learned a lot talking to Jennifer. Hope you enjoy our conversation!

 

ruppert-brevard
I talk biodiversity and the French Broad River with Professor Jennifer Frick-Ruppert of Brevard College

Two of Professor Jennifer Frick-Ruppert’s books have been published with more on the way:

  • Mountain Nature: A Seasonal Natural History of the Southern Appalachians
  • Waterways: Sailing the Southeastern Coast
  • Click here to learn more about Professor Frick-Ruppert’s books on her Amazon page.

 

You can also listen to the podcast by searching for “Torg Stories” on the podcast app of your iPhone. We’d appreciate it if you’d subscribe and review on iTunes.

Thanks for listening!

 

A comment for the conversation?